Uncategorized

Life, Beyond

Something within me has ignited.

Five days ago, as I was nestled into my usual spot at the coffee bar, etching away on another art piece, the new tunes from the stylish Daft Punk passed through my ears. As an avid appreciator of music, it was no surprise that I fell deep into the groove and found myself thinking more about everything around me than the lines scratched out on the page beneath the pen. But something was profoundly different this time, and I’ll credit that first play-through as a turning point for the events that followed.

One song in particular spoke to me. And those eery chills that migrate through my bones justify my belief that in music glimmers an emotional magic for which logic can’t fathom a worthy explanation. It awakens you. As the pen continued to ink out the lines, my thoughts drifted. And suddenly I felt an light sense of “everything is alright, Sam.”

The phrases that follow tangle with scattered lyrics of the french duo’s production titled “Beyond”. Tonight, I write the thoughts that I just can’t stop thinking lately. Tonight, I’d like to let you in on this newfound warmth that has filled my last few days.

I am happy again, reader. And it all started with this song.

~

Dreams, beyond dreams…”

…She’s asleep at the windowsill and I have the urge to turn the lights off and fall to my knees…

A girl keeps running because she’s terrified of stopping and the shouting sounds surrounding her are tugging at her core.  She could cry every ten steps…

These things we do, they’re real…

“…Beyond life, you will find your song…”

…I suddenly understand that people die. And that’s okay. I imagine myself leaning into the crib, singing for the first time into our son’s ear. He’s asleep and doesn’t know just how much that moment means to me…

…This is bigger than you. It always will be. I have to detach myself from this construct that we call the day-to-day and remember that it’s all temporary…

…There’s a faint sound in the distance. It gets louder when I think about you and stop thinking about me…

“…Close your eyes, then rise…”

Through a smile and the occasional chuckle he tells me of a life full of surgeries. And I think I’ve got it bad because some girl walked away…

It’s dark at night, but it feels like a different place than two months ago…

Somewhere, there’s a blind man who thinks in sound and touch…

“…You are the end and the beginning, a world where time is not allowed…”

…And to think that I never thought this joy would ever come. That I forgot that it always turns around…

Are you hearing this? Are you listening?…

I step outside and suddenly I’m closer to the sky above. Stretch out my fingers and forget about my watch…

“…There’s no such thing as competition…”

…We’re all weird, she says. She couldn’t be more right…

Comparison kills happiness…

I look around and everybody is beaming at me. They’re hanging on every word…

“…Remember love’s our only mission…”

What’s your favorite color?…

A Chinese man, right now, just opened his arms and fell to the floor. A child comes running…

My chest is beating. I can’t stop it…

“…The perfect song is framed with silence…”

…                                                                     …..

…             ….

…                  ….

“…This is the journey of the soul…”

…To dig yourself from a rut, sometimes it takes a strong spin of the wheel…

I look at her face and she just grins and nervously finds her hair and she has no idea what she just did to me and neither do I but I suppose it was supposed to pull at me just right…

We live forever, outwardly, and keep radiating in the end…

~

The sounds fade and I’m sucked back into the noisy coffee shop. I become aware of my eyes and take a peek around. It seems nobody noticed.

I grip the pen and keep scratching.

Standard

Leave a Reply

